#TW30DaysOfTesting – Day 2: Accessibility bugs

This is a space I am REALLY excited about of recent. I can’t even wait for the event that Kim Knup (@Punkmik) has helped organise for the Brighton Tester meet up – FREE accessibility testing workshop with Steve Green. I will be taking the trip down from London so if anyone wants to join for a fun train ride please give a shout!

For me, I have focused mainly on keyboard accessibility in my experiences so I wanted to do something a little different this time. I wanted to take a look at colour accessibility. To do this I opened up the chrome extension Wave which has I have only briefly used in the past for scans but has always been really easy to pick up.

The funny part is that before I even got a chance to look at the colour accessibility the first error that popped up was my image on www.thoughtworks.com/insights doesn’t have an alt tag!

Screen Shot 2016-09-02 at 09.02.44.png

So back to the original plan…

The reason I picked ThoughtWorks.com is because about 18 months ago we went through a refresh of our images and brand and introduced all of the fun colours you see in that screenshot and around all of our materials. While I think it is great that we have such bold colours and use them all together, as someone who (I think) has fairly average colour vision, I was curious if it would look different to those with other visions. To do this I downloaded the Chrome extension I want to see like the colour blind (and yes…colour…it was even a non-American extension!).

What I found out, is that while our colours use a lot of white text on colour background which comes up as low contrast in Wave, when applying the different shifts in colours it really just changes the brand colours and not the intent of big, bold, colours on our site.

Screen Shot 2016-09-02 at 09.10.43.png
Wave identification of very low contrast on http://www.thoughtworks.com

 

Screen Shot 2016-09-02 at 09.06.46.png
Viewing http://www.thoughtworks.com as those with deuteranomaly would see it.

 

So overall I am happy to have used Wave again today after a fairly long hiatus, as well as identifying a new tool to evaluate colours! I am curious how often others check into these aspects?

 

Leave a Reply

