Organising an internal version of 30 Days of Testing

So as I mentioned in the past post Building on the 30 Days of Testing, we will be kicking off our own version in a couple days in time for September 1st. When I reached out to Rosie Sherry about nicking the idea, she was super supportive and even said it was a goal to create a series of these challenges. With that blessing in hand, I started to think about what (if anything) needed to shift before introducing it as an internal challenge.

The first thing that came to mind was how to work in a goal around building relationships at work. As a consultant, I can get very tied up in my day to day activities at the client and manage to go months without speaking to people in my role at other clients which is a huge waste of all the great talent we have at the company. This drove me to add a couple of challenges…

  • Introduce yourself to a tester with less TW tenure
  • Introduce yourself to a tester with more TW tenure
  • Reconnect with a teammate on a past project
  • Comment on one my.TW post

Ok great, so 4 new ideas…but 30 + 4 Days of Testing does not have as nice a ring to it. So as painful as it was, I went through and took a couple away. I thought I would take the ones most outside of day to day work away first. These were the poor ones to take the hit:

  • DOWNLOAD A MOBILE APP, FIND 5 BUGS AND SEND FEEDBACK TO THE CREATOR
  • FIND A PROBLEM WITH AN E-COMMERCE WEBSITE
  • FIND A BROKEN LINK AND REPORT IT
  • TAKE A PICTURE OF YOUR TEAM (plus this one since we do that a bit anyways internally)

I continued in this way creating an outcome goal, identifying challenges which may support that outcome, and then painfully removing existing challenges which would not support the outcomes. I think two interesting points are:

  1. I have removed the focus on the role as much as possible. Yes quality and yes testing are discussed, but this will be a challenge to the whole region and I want everyone to feel included while keeping the driving focus on testing.
  2. Yes…I do know how to count. No…there are not 30 days in my 30 days of testing. This challenge is based around the month of September that has 30 days, but also has 4 weekends. I want people to feel this is attainable and sustainable with their day jobs and their daily lives. I chose to not completely exclude weekends, but to leave a (hopefully) weekend enjoyable challenge across both days.

 

And after all of that, here is the final result: TW30DaysOfTestingPoster.

So what do you think? Would your developers be willing and wanting to participate in this? How about your project managers and finance department?

3 thoughts on “Organising an internal version of 30 Days of Testing

Leave a Reply

